H. E. Prof. Tijjani Muhammad-Bande was born on 7th December, 1957 and an indigene of Kebbi State, Prof. Muhammad-Bande attended ABU, Nigeria (B.Sc, Political Science, 1979); Boston University, USA (MA, Political Science, 1981) and the University of Toronto, Canada (PhD, Political Science, 1987).  He has a wife and four children.


Prof. Muhammad-Bande has had an outstanding career as a scholar and administrator.  This could be gleaned from some key and strategic positions he held, and what contributions he made in those positions:

  • DIRECTOR-GENERAL, National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, (NIPSS), Kuru (April 2010 – February 2016). He led in stabilizing the Institute and establishing new and relevant programmes and centers, restoring and improving the image and impact of the Institute.  NIPSS is Nigeria’s highest academic and policy institution.
  • VICE-CHANCELLOR, Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, (2004 – 2009). Having risen from Graduate Assistant in 1980 to Professor in 1998 at the University, he took it to its highest level yet.  It took first position in 3 successive University-wide NUC Accreditations between 2005 and 2007.  The University was and remains the most peaceful in Nigeria.
  • DIRECTOR-GENERAL (January 2000 – February 2004), Centre African de Formation et de Reserch Administrative pour le Development (CAFPAD) Tangier, Morocco. It is Africa’s premier inter-governmental centre for research and training in development administration.  Established by African Governments in 1964, it had membership of 39 African States in 2000.  This number rose to 43 by 2003.
  • Muhammad-Bande has travelled to over forty (40) countries and consulted for Institutions and Governments over a variety of governance issues, from higher education to security and international relations and organizations. He has been an Assessor for the National Merit Award and for professorial positions in universities. He has won Awards and Honours from Institutions and Governments including the US and China and is a recipient of Nigeria’s Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR) in 2005.