Miguel d’Escoto Brockmann (fifth from right), President of the sixty-third session of the General Assembly; Navi Pillay (fifth from left), United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights; and Martin Uhomoibhi (left), Permanent Representative of Nigeria to the United Nations Office at Geneva and President of the Human Rights Council, pose for a group photog with the recipients of the 2008 United Nations Prize in the Field of Human Rights. From left to right: Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, on behalf of Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto, former Prime Minister of Pakistan; Sister Joan Burke; Ramsey Clark, former Attorney-General of the United States of America; Caroline Gomes, Co-founder and Executive Director of Jamaicans for Justice; David Stang, on behalf of Sister Dorothy Stang; Kenneth Roth, on behalf of Human Rights Watch and Louise Arbour, former United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights; and Denis Mukwege, Director and Chief surgeon at the Panzi Hospital in Bukavu in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.
10 December 2008
United Nations, New York